Return to Headlines

2019 Eisinger Award Winners Announced

The Jefferson City Public Schools and the Jefferson City Public Schools Foundation are proud to announce the 2019 Eisinger Awards for Teacher of the Year and Outstanding Educator. The Eisinger Award recipients were chosen from a field of full-time certified teachers, school librarians, guidance counselors, and instructional coaches who were nominated by administrators, colleagues, parents, and students for possessing the qualities of a great educator.

2019 Eisinger Teacher of the Year, Regina Roe

Regina Roe


The recipient of the 2019 Eisinger Teacher of the Year award is Mrs. Regina Roe, a mathematics teacher at Jefferson City High School. Mrs. Roe has been a teacher for 28 years. She first taught in Columbia and then Harlingen, Texas before starting at Jefferson City High School in 1994. Mrs. Roe has taught a number of different math courses at JCHS over the last 25 years.

In her application Mrs. Roe said, “I was born to be a teacher. I can’t NOT teach. I went into teaching to share my love of math, but I stay in teaching because I am impacting lives.”


2019 Eisinger Outstanding Educator, Jennifer Uptergrove

Jennifer Uptergrove


Lawson Elementary 1st grade teacher, Jennifer Uptergrove, was named the 2019 Eisinger Outstanding Educator. Mrs. Uptergrove came to Jefferson City Public Schools in 2009 after teaching in Eldon, MO. She’s taught 1st grade in the district for a decade and has 24 years of experience in the classroom.

In her application, Mrs. Uptergrove credited much of her success to the dedicated teachers and administrators who have surrounded her during her career and said she “believes her number one job is to build relationships with her students, making them see they are part of a community.”


2019 Teacher of the Year Finalists

The other educators selected as 2019 Eisinger Teacher of the Year finalists included:

  • Jessica Deschu, Southwest Early Childhood Center
  • Julie Maassen, Jefferson City High School
  • Tessa Scheperle, West Elementary
  • Jody Thomas, Thomas Jefferson Middle School


The Eisinger Teacher of the Year Selection Committee, comprised of Jefferson City area community members, chose the six finalists based on their written applications submitted in February. The selection committee then conducted personal interviews with each of the finalists to choose the Eisinger Teacher of the Year and the Eisinger Outstanding Educator. These awards were announced at the annual JCPS Staff Appreciation Banquet on April 25th at Lewis & Clark Middle School.