• Jefferson City Public Schools' Eisinger Teacher of the Year ProgramEisinger Teacher of the Year

Submit a Nomination

  • Nominations for the 2019 Eisinger Teacher of the Year are currently being accepted. The nomination window will close on January 9, 2019. Fill out the online nomination form here.
    Anyone (students, alums, parents, co-workers, etc.) may submit a nomination. Educators eligible for this award include full-time, certified teachers, school librarians, guidance counselors or instructional coaches. You are welcome to nominate as many teachers as you would like. The nominated teacher must have five years of teaching experience, with two of those years being served in the Jefferson City Public Schools. For more information, call the JCPS Foundation at 573-659-3549.
    In 2016, the JCPS Foundation received an amazing gift to support the JCPS Teacher of the Year Program. Don and Linda Eisinger established the annual Eisinger Teacher of the Year and Eisinger Outstanding Educator awards. Because of Mrs. Eisinger’s passion for teaching and her love of children, the Eisingers established this gift to support these awards for 15 years. Mrs. Eisinger (pictured above), a long-time educator at North Elementary and West Elementary, was the 2004 JCPS Teacher of the Year. She then went on to be the 2005 Missouri State Teacher of the Year. Mrs. Eisinger retired from JCPS in 2011.

2018 Honorees

  • Jana Forck At the annual JCPS Teacher Appreciation Banquet, Jana Forck, a Mathematics and Project Lead the Way Engineering teacher at Jefferson City High School, was named the 2018 Eisinger Teacher of the Year.  Jessica Long, a Kindergarten teacher at Cedar Hill Elementary, received the 2018 Eisinger Outstanding Educator Award.

    Mrs. Forck has taught for 29 years, 28 of those are with JCPS.  She received her Bachelor of Sciences in Education-Secondary Math from the University of Central Missouri in 1989, graduating summa cum laude.  Mrs. Forck achieved her Masters in Education in Athletic Administration in 1994 and is a member of American Federation of Teachers, National Council of Teachers of Mathematics and Missouri Council of Teachers of Mathematics.  

    We asked Mrs. Forck her philosophy of teaching:  “As a teacher, my goal is to inspire my students to reach their full potential. I want my students to feel welcome, cared for, and successful in my classroom.”  

    Other finalists for these honors were: Jordan Hart, JCHS; Jamie Henry, North Elementary; Susan Isaacs, Callaway Hills Elementary; and Crystal Riggs, Lewis & Clark Middle School. 
    The Teacher of the Year Selection Committee, comprised of Jefferson City area community members, chose finalists based on their written applications submitted in February. The selection committee then interviewed the six finalists in-person. 
    The Jefferson City Public Schools Teacher of the Year program began in 1991 and is part of the Missouri Regional/State Teacher of the Year Program.

Past Teacher of the Year Award Recipients

    1970: Carl Burkel, JCHS**

    1992: Ann Lane, Southwest Elementary

    1993: Eva Studley, EER/Simonsen

    1994: Dennis Nickelson, JCHS*

    1995: Patty Morrow, Moreau Heights Elementary*

    1996: Mary Hill, JCHS

    1997: Saundra Allen, East Elementary

    1998: Barbara Martin, Belair Elementary

    1999: Gae Ellyn Gentzsch, Thomas Jefferson Middle School

    2000: Jennifer Milne, JCHS

    2001: Barb Kuebler, Lewis and Clark Middle School*

    2002: Steve Eubanks, JCHS

    2003: Christie Kittrell, Belair Elementary

    2004: Linda Eisinger, West Elementary**

    2005: Ellen Schmidt, Belair Elementary

    2006: Linda Heckman, JCHS

    2007: Suzanna Haugen, Lewis and Clark Middle School*

    2008: Mary Thorne, North Elementary

    2009: Peg Vietti, Thomas Jefferson Middle School

    2010: Don Gauzy, Lewis and Clark Middle School

    2011: Jeni DeFeo, Thomas Jefferson Middle School*

    2012: David Ganey, Jefferson City High School
    2013: Aaron Gillam, Jefferson City High School
    2014: Beth Dampf, Jefferson City High School
    2015: Jeff Luttrell, Lewis and Clark Middle School
    2016: Nikki Carel, Pioneer Trail Elementary 
    2017: Rhonda Allen, Thorpe Gordon Elementary

    * = Missouri State Teacher of the Year Finalist

    ** = Missouri State Teacher of the Year